ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Art Libraries Society of North America

Vacancy Announcement: Library Technician (Image Collections – Student Assistant), National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art Library
Vacancy Announcement
Library Technician (Image Collections)

The National Gallery of Art Library is seeking applicants for a student assistant position in the Image Collections Department. The primary purpose of the position is to assist with the development and maintenance of the department’s online catalogue and with preparation of analog and digital images for inclusion in the department’s collections.

Duties include preparing online bibliographic records for images, verifying heading authorities, creating digital image scans and accompanying metadata, preparing shelf labels and containers, and adding item information to a variety of visual materials.

Applicants should have an ability to input detailed cataloging data using a personal computer, familiarity with library technical services procedures and basic descriptive cataloging principles, an ability to follow oral and written instructions accurately, and an ability to type and file accurately. Reading knowledge of a Western European language other than English (French, German, or Italian) and some knowledge of art history is desirable.

In order to qualify for this position, applicants must be registered at least as a half-time student and be able to provide certification of student status, including a current class schedule. Work schedules will be determined to accommodate the student’s class schedule and the Library’s work requirements. A typical schedule is 20 hours per week while classes are in session; full-time employment is available during semester and summer breaks. The incumbent earns sick and annual leave based on the amount of hours worked. The position is temporary, but appointment can be extended for the duration of the incumbent’s educational career provided he or she meets the eligibility requirements specified above.

Those interested in this position should send résumés and any inquiries via e-mail to both addresses below:

Gregory P.J. Most
Chief, Library Image Collections
National Gallery of Art

Andrea Gibbs
Deputy Chief, Library Image Collections
National Gallery of Art

Smithsonian AA/PG Library Art, History, & Biography Book Sale, Dec 4-6

Just in time for buying holiday gifts! Please visit the annual Smithsonian AA/PG Library book sale! We open up our staff work room to you to browse thousands of beautiful art books on all periods and places, great biographies and history books. Brand new & lightly used at half the lowest price found!* Bring a bag (or a cart…we have some great deals!)

Wednesday-Friday, December 4-6
American Art & Portrait Gallery Library
Victor Building (one block from the Gallery Place metro/not the main museum)
750 9th Street NW, Suite #2100

Proceeds from this sale are crucial to the Library’s book acquisition fund and allow us to better support scholarly research across the Institution and beyond.

 *Half the cost of similar condition found at time of pricing.

« Older posts