ARLIS/NA George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Call for Submissions

The 2014 George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Committee of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) welcomes submissions of notable art books published in North America during 2014. This prestigious award is presented annually for publications demonstrating excellence in art publishing.

Established by ARLIS/NA in 1980, the award honors the memory of George Wittenborn (1905-1974), a premier New York art book dealer and publisher who was a strong supporter of ARLIS/NA in its formative years. Each year, eligible titles are evaluated for excellence in standards of content, documentation, layout, and format. From these titles, one exemplary publication will be chosen to receive the George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award. For a list of past award winners, see:

Titles eligible for consideration include books (print and electronic), exhibition catalogues, and new periodical titles in any language, published in 2014 and originating from a North American publisher. Publications submitted by foreign publishers with North American offices must have been authored or edited in North America. Consult the Wittenborn Award guidelines for specific criteria used for selection:

Announcement of the awards will take place in March 2015 and winning publishers, editors, and authors will be personally notified. Award-winning titles and the individuals associated with them can expect to receive wide recognition in newspapers and journals of the library and publishing professions via press release announcements by ARLIS/NA. The awards will be presented in March 2015 at the convocation of the ARLIS/NA 43rd Annual Conference in Fort Worth, Texas.

To be considered for the George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award:

2014 George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Committee
ATTN: Shalimar Fojas White
Manager, Image Collections and Fieldwork Archives
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection
1703 32nd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20007

There is no limit to the number of submissions from each publisher. Please note, we are unable to return items submitted for review.

ARLIS/NA (, founded in 1972, now has over 1,000 members in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and overseas.  It is the only professional organization in North America devoted exclusively to the concerns of art information specialists.For more information, please contact the Chair of the 2014 Wittenborn Award Committee: Shalimar Fojas White (, 202-339-6972).