Conference Travel Award

ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic
Caroline Backlund Professional Development Award
Deadline: December 7, 2018

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of ARLIS/NA presents an annual travel award to promote professional development for a chapter member at the annual ARLIS/NA conference. This award is named in honor of Caroline Backlund (1920-2016) who had a distinguished career as an art librarian, educator, and author. Mrs. Backlund, a long time chapter member, received the ARLIS/NA Distinguished Service Award for her contributions to the Society in 1989.

The Backlund Award is $750.00 and is intended to help members of the Mid-Atlantic Chapter become more involved in ARLIS/NA at the national level. It is maintained through donations from chapter members. The chapter invites contributions in any amount, year-round.

Award applicants must be a current member of ARLIS/NA and must be a current, dues-paying member of the ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic Chapter. Applications are encouraged from those who do not have institutional funding or have never attended the national conference with additional consideration given to applications for members who will be participating in the conference as speakers or moderators; and/or who serve in leadership positions on ARLIS/NA committees, divisions, sections, and special interest groups.

Following the conference, the winner must submit a brief written report to the Backlund Award Committee within 30 days, and is encouraged to make a presentation to the chapter membership at the next meeting and/or through a posting on the chapter website.


Applicants for the award should submit a current résumé or curriculum vitae and a letter describing the benefits anticipated from conference attendance, their specific role in the conference (if applicable), and a travel budget including any expected funding from the applicant’s institution or other sources.

Please submit applications for the Caroline Backlund Professional Development Award
to by close of business on Friday, December 7, 2018. All applications must be submitted electronically.

Gregory P. J. Most, Chair (National Gallery of Art)
Mary Louise Castaldi (University of the Arts)
Yuki Hibben (Virginia Commonwealth University)
Chris Needham, 2018 winner (US DoD)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *