Art and the Archive: Canon vs. Archive
Maryland Institute College of Art
October 5, 2021
90 minutes: 11am PT, 12pm MT, 1pm CT, 2pm ET USA

In this conversation, Josh T. Franco, National Collector at the Archives of American Art and Sarah-Neel Smith, Art History, Theory and Criticism at Maryland Institute College of Art will re-envision the notion of the art historical canon through a discussion of their work in and outside of archives. In his role, Franco works to identify, investigate, and acquire personal papers, institutional records and other primary sources that tell the stories of American art. Smith’s research focuses on modern and contemporary art, especially artistic exchanges and the Middle East.

Register in advance: https://mica-edu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAtduihrD0pHNcHBNX8kUOFMjcw0UHi3uQq

Art & The Archive, launched Fall 2020,  is a conversation series that explores the role of the archive in the production of art and culture. Featured speakers include writers, archivists, artists, and researchers who all engage with archives in meaningful ways. Attendees can expect a lively, expansive discussion of how archives unfold in our everyday lives.
This conversation is sponsored by Decker Library, in collaboration with the Art History Department.