Chapter Travel Award Recipients 2022

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Art Libraries Society of North America is pleased to present travel awards to two of its members enabling them to attend the 50th annual conference in Chicago from April 4-9, 2022.

The Caroline Backlund Travel Award recipient is Sams Wilson, a first year student in the MLIS program at the University of Maryland at College Park. The award was established in 2002 and is named in honor of Caroline Backlund (1920-2016) who had a distinguished career as an art librarian, educator, and author. Mrs. Backlund, a long-time chapter member and received the ARLIS/NA Distinguished Service Award in 1989 for her contributions to the Society. This award is funded by contributions from Chapter members. Sams, a native of South Carolina, is also a student technician in the Department of Image Collections of the National Gallery of Art Library. He is currently working on indexing Japanese artists’ names in the NGA Library’s ILS and cataloging Japanese art from the Cleveland Museum of Art Photograph Library Archive among other projects.

Danielle Brogdon, who is completing her MLIS at Catholic University of America in May, is the recipient of the Washington Art Library Resources Committee Award.  WALRC comprised research libraries in the Greater Washington, DC area. In 1981, WALRC published Art serials: union list of art periodicals and serials in research libraries in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area (edited by Carolyn S. Larson) which proved to be a very useful and popular publication. In 2018 WALRC, which had been inactive for many years, disbanded and the funds from the sale of the publication was transferred to the Chapter. Danielle is the Secretary/Treasurer of the Chapter and also a student technician in the Department of Image Collections of the National Gallery of Art Library. She is currently working on cataloging and digitizing images from the David Finn Archive that documents sculpture of all periods and cultures.

Awards Committee
Claralyn Burt, Architect of the Capitol
Yuki Hibben, Virginia Commonwealth University
Gregory P. J. Most, National Gallery of Art
Sarah Ostrach, Hoover Institution, Stanford University