Awards Committee

Gregory P. J. Most, Chair

The Mid-Atlantic chapters offers two travel awards to attend the ARLIS/NA annual conference.

Caroline Backlund Student Travel Award

The first Caroline Backlund Professional Development Travel Award was granted in Spring 2002 to assist a chapter member in attending the ARLIS/NA Annual National Conference. The award criteria were later changed to designate this award for student travel. The award is named in honor of Caroline Backlund, who was a longtime ARLIS/NA and local Chapter member with a distinguished and influential career in art librarianship.

Washington Art Library Resources Committee Award

The Washington Art Library Resources Committee (WALRC) comprised research libraries in the greater Washington, DC area. In 1981, WALRC published Art serials: union list of art periodicals and serials in research libraries in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area (edited by Carolyn S. Larson) which proved to be a very useful and popular publication. In 2018 WALRC, which had been inactive for many years, disbanded and the funds from the sale of the publication was transferred to the Chapter. The remaining WALRC members designated the use of the transferred WALRC funds for a travel award for professional members of the chapter that would allow the Backlund award to be devoted for students and their participation in the national organization.

For more information on the Backlund and WALRC awards, visit the Conference Travel Awards page.

Fundraising Committee

K. Sarah Ostrach, Chair

The committee was established to coordinate and maintain fundraising activities for the Chapter. The committee should not exceed five members, including the Chapter Chair and Treasurer. Funds raised will directly support the Caroline Backlund Travel Award and annual conference donations.