The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Art Libraries Society of North America

Category: Events (Page 1 of 6)

Digital Libraries Come of Age – Arcadia Library Lecture

Philadelphia Museum of Art
Arcadia Library Lecture
Wednesday, November 10
6:00–7:00 p.m. via Zoom

Universal access to all knowledge is the mission that has guided digital librarian Brewster Kahle in his life’s work. Join us for a conversation with Kahle, founder of the Internet Archive (a nonprofit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more), which recently celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary. He discusses digital librarianship today.

Free RSVP required by noon on Tuesday, November 9. The Arcadia Library Lecture is generously supported by the Arcadia Foundation.

Art and the Archive: Canon vs. Archive, October 5

Art and the Archive: Canon vs. Archive
Maryland Institute College of Art
October 5, 2021
90 minutes: 11am PT, 12pm MT, 1pm CT, 2pm ET USA

In this conversation, Josh T. Franco, National Collector at the Archives of American Art and Sarah-Neel Smith, Art History, Theory and Criticism at Maryland Institute College of Art will re-envision the notion of the art historical canon through a discussion of their work in and outside of archives. In his role, Franco works to identify, investigate, and acquire personal papers, institutional records and other primary sources that tell the stories of American art. Smith’s research focuses on modern and contemporary art, especially artistic exchanges and the Middle East.

Register in advance: https://mica-edu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAtduihrD0pHNcHBNX8kUOFMjcw0UHi3uQq

Art & The Archive, launched Fall 2020,  is a conversation series that explores the role of the archive in the production of art and culture. Featured speakers include writers, archivists, artists, and researchers who all engage with archives in meaningful ways. Attendees can expect a lively, expansive discussion of how archives unfold in our everyday lives.
This conversation is sponsored by Decker Library, in collaboration with the Art History Department.
« Older posts