Fall 2004 Meeting Minutes

Joint meeting with mid-Atlantic VRA
October 1, 2004
Williamsburg, Virginia

Members in Attendance:

Liz Harter
Brenda Bikos
Matt Wiggins
Sharon Wasserman
Stephanie Moye
Yuki Dixon
Heather Ball
Sarah Falls
Nancy Patterson
Regina Koehler
Marilyn Wassmann
Lorenza Amico
John Robertson
Lucie Stylianopoulos
Roger Lawson
Kristen Regina
Barrie Howard

1. Call for nominees for officers. Sharon Wasserman asked for nominees for the upcoming chapter elections. Current officers reviewed the duties of their positions. The offices open for 2005 included Vice Chair/Chair Elect and Secretary/Treasurer. Emily Rafferty was nominated for Vice Chair/Chair Elect though was not at the meeting to accept the nomination. Barrie Howard was nominated for Secretary/Treasurer and accepted the nomination. The Chapter holds elections in November.

2. Treasurer report. Regina Koehler reported that as of September 29, 2004 the Chapter bank account totaled $4095.46 with $1892.50 of the funds going toward the Caroline Backlund Professional Development Travel Fund. Membership stands at 68 current members. The 2005 membership drive is currently underway. A detailed end of the year report is required of the National ARLIS organization and will be sent out to members as well as posted on the chapter website in February 2005. Regina suggested that members find a way to spend some of the chapter funds and suggested bringing in outside speakers for future chapter meetings.

3. Newsletter name contest. Members present were asked to submit ideas to name the newsletter. Submission forms were passed out to members at the meeting and included in the recent membership mailing. The member who submits the chosen name will win an year�s free Chapter membership and a free tour for four of Hillwood Museum.

4. Acceptance of past meeting minutes. The minutes for the Spring and Summer 2004 were accepted by the membership.

5. Future meetings. Sharon Wasserman called for ideas for future meetings. Suggested locations included The Library of Congress including the Cataloging Division and Prints and Photographs(DC); National Museum of the American Indian(DC); National Museum of American Art(DC); Visionary Art Museum(MD); meeting at National Meeting(Houston, TX). Members suggested setting meeting dates early in the year to encourage better member attendance.

6. Announcements.

Heather Ball, Art and Architecture Librarian at Virginia Tech is the new South Regional Representative for ARLIS/NA.

Sharon Wasserman called for volunteers for the Travel Award and Diversity Committees. Sharon reviewed the Travel award committee’s purpose and Lucie Stylianopoulos reviewed the Diversity award committee’s purpose. The new diversity award committee includes Kristen Regina, Cristianne Fellows and Sharon Wasserman. The new travel award committee includes Matthew Wiggins, Sally Simms Stokes, and Phyllis Graham. Heather Ball said she would introduce the idea of a national diversity award to the ARLIS/NA board using other national awards as a model.

Sharon Wasserman announced the creation of the new chapter website and the future introduction of a Chapter listserve both managed by Joan Stahl at University of Maryland.

Marilyn Wassmann submitted a list of past meetings from the Chapter’s founding through the early nineties for posting on the chapters website under chapter history. Chapter Secretary/Treasurer Regina Koehler will bring the list up-to-date.