ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Art Libraries Society of North America

Page 2 of 147

Chapter Announces Three Travel Awards for 50th Annual Conference in Chicago

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of ARLIS/NA encourages its members to participate in the 2022 Chicago Conference that will also celebrate the 50th anniversary of ARLIS/NA. In honor of the anniversary, the Chapter will offer one Backlund and two WALRC awards.

Caroline Backlund Award

This award was established in 2002 and is named in honor of Caroline Backlund (1920-2016) who had a distinguished career as an art librarian, educator, and author. Mrs. Backlund, a long-time chapter member and received the ARLIS/NA Distinguished Service Award in 1989 for her contributions to the Society. The Backlund award is intended to help student members of the Mid-Atlantic Chapter become more involved in the ARLIS/NA at the national level by participating in the conference and serving on committees. This award is funded by contributions from Chapter members. There will be one Caroline Backlund Award to encourage student participation. The award amount is $1,000.

Criteria: Students must be enrolled at least part-time in a library/information science school and must be current member of ARLIS/NA and the Mid-Atlantic Chapter. Weight will be given to students who are participating in the conference as a presenter or leader of a group.

Application: The deadline for applications is Friday, January 7, 2022.

Students should submit a resume, a travel budget including any expected funding from the applicant’s school or other sources, and a brief letter stating the benefits of attending the conference and the impact that ARLIS/NA will have on their chosen profession.

Washington Art Library Resources Committee Award

The Washington Art Library Resources Committee (WALRC) comprised research libraries in the Greater Washington, DC area. In 1981, WALRC published Art serials: union list of art periodicals and serials in research libraries in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area (edited by Carolyn S. Larson) which proved to be a very useful and popular publication. In 2018 WALRC, which had been inactive for many years, disbanded and the funds from the sale of the publication was transferred to the Chapter. The WALRC Award is intended for professional (i.e. non-student) members of the Mid-Atlantic Chapter to become more involved with ARLIS/NA at the national level. Funding for the award is provided by income from WALRC invested accounts. There will be two Washington Art Library Resources Committee Awards for 2022. The awards will be $1,000 each.

Criteria: Award applicants must be a current member of ARLIS/NA the ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic Chapter. Preference will be given to chapter members who are participating in the conference or are members of committees or other leadership groups where their participation is necessary.

Application: The deadline for applications is Friday, January 7, 2022.

Applicants for the awards should submit a current résumé or curriculum vitae and a letter describing the benefits anticipated from conference attendance, their specific role in the conference (if applicable), and a travel budget including any expected funding from the applicant’s institution or other sources.

Please send applications to:

Gregory P. J. Most
Chair, ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic Chapter Travel Awards Committee

Mid-Atlantic Chapter Awards Committee
Claralyn Burt, Architect of the Capitol
Yuki Hibben, Virginia Commonwealth University
Gregory P. J. Most, National Gallery of Art
K. Sarah Ostrach, Independent

Call for Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect Nominations

We are seeking nominees (including self-nominations) for the ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic Chapter Vice Chair/Chair-Elect position, to begin in January 2022. Serving as an officer is a great way to contribute to the Chapter, build leadership skills, and meet and develop relationships with wonderful art library colleagues in the Mid-Atlantic area. Please submit your nominations by Friday, December 3.

Vice Chair/Chair Elect (2 years)
This is a three year position, and the Vice Chair will automatically assume the position of Chair in their second year of service followed by a concluding year as Immediate Past Chair.

Vice Chair duties are as follows:

  • The Vice Chair acts as chief executive officer in the event that the Chair is unable to serve, assists with meeting programming, keeps meeting minutes, and automatically serves as Chair the following year.
  • The Chair acts as chief executive officer of the Chapter.
  • With the assistance of the Vice-Chair and Treasurer, the Chair plans the activities of the Chapter, communicates about meetings, serves as chair of all special project committees, submits the annual report and otherwise liaises with officers and committees of the national association, and shall automatically become the Immediate Past Chair in the following year.

To qualify for these positions, one must be 2021/2022 member of the chapter and the society. The elected officers should make every effort to attend the society’s annual conference. Students are also eligible to serve (keeping in mind the three year term of service).

To nominate yourself or another chapter member, or if you have questions about the role, please email the chapter chairs, Cathryn Copper and Anne Evenhaugen by Friday, December 3.

« Older posts Newer posts »